Shields Research Day 2024

The 45th Annual Shields Research Day was held on Friday, May 3, 2024. The event was a resounding success, with more than 300 attendees. Here is a recap of the highlights.


The event was graced by the esteemed presence of two remarkable speakers:

  • Dr. Sachin Kheterpal’s presentation was titled "Lessons Learned When Using Data to Collaborate and Improve Care.” Key points included the importance of using data as a foundation for collaboration and innovation, ensuring data quality before analytics, and, of course, patience.
  • Dr. Karim Ladha’s presentation was titled “Opioids, Cannabis, and Psychedelics: Important Therapeutics or Just Getting High," where he provided examples of ongoing studies that re-purposed existing drugs for therapeutic purposes and highlighted the need for further investigation into the area.

Award Winners

Congratulations to all award recipients for their exceptional contributions to our department!

Trainee Education Awards

  • Evelyn Bateman Award: Michelle Lim
  • Thomas Hammel Award: Dr. Brad Kaminski
  • Alan K. Laws Travel Fellowship Award: Dr. Calvin Diep
  • Arthur Scott Award of Excellence in Anesthesia and Critical Care: Drs. John Mikhaeil and Kathleen Vannelli

Teaching Excellence Awards

  • New Faculty Teaching Excellence Award: Dr. Faraj Massouh
  • Interprofessional Teaching Award: Dr. Beverly Morningstar
  • Dr. Gerald Edelist Award: Dr. Chadi Saliba
  • Dr. John Desmond Award: Dr. Stephen Chan
  • Dr. Gil Faclier Award: Dr. Yasmine Hoydonckx
  • Dr. David Fear Award: Dr. Lisa Bahrey

Clinical Excellence Awards

  • UHN—Women’s College Hospital: Dr. Jean Wong
  • UHN—Toronto Western Hospital: Dr. Zoe Unger
  • UHN—Toronto General Hospital: Dr. Dallas Duncan
  • Mount Sinai Hospital: Dr. Josh Gleicher
  • Sunnybrook Health Science Centre: Dr. James Helman
  • Unity Health—St. Michael’s Hospital: Dr. Claude Tousignant
  • Unity Health—St. Joseph Health Centre: Dr. Michael Baxter
  • The Hospital for Sick Children: Dr. Igor Luginbuehl
  • Michael Garron Hospital: Dr. Henderson Lee

Shields Day Awards

Outstanding Poster Presentations:

  • Excellence in Basic Science: Tim YT Lee
  • Excellence in Clinical Science: Julia Olsen and Erminio Santangelo
  • Excellence in Education/QI: Dr. Petra Hroch Tiessen

Outstanding Oral Presentations:

  • Excellence in Basic Science: Doorsa Tarazi
  • Excellence in Clinical Science: Margarita Oátlora-Esteban
  • Excellence in Education/QI: Dana Yana Shafir

Book of Abstracts

You are invited to download the Book Of Abstracts for a complete list of all accepted abstracts as well as abstracts that were submitted for consideration but not invited to be presented. For access to this file, please email the department.


Photographs from the event are now available. View them here.