Jan 15, 2024

Dr. Colin McCartney Receives the ASRA Pain Medicine Distinguished Service Award for 2024

Dr. Colin McCartney

The Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine congratulates Dr. Colin McCartney, who has received the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine Distinguished Service Award (DSA) for 2024. The award recognizes his exceptional contributions to the field and underscores the impact he has had on the specialty.

Speaking following the announcement, Dr. McCartney expressed his gratitude to ASRA Pain Medicine. "The Distinguished Service Award is one of the major awards that ASRA selects each year. The list of previous winners includes many of the great names of regional anesthesia and pain medicine over the last fifty years, so to be included in this list is a huge honour and quite surreal."

He also highlighted the instrumental role of others in his success, stating, "I am very aware that I have benefited from wonderful mentors and great colleagues both within and outside ASRA who have supported me at every stage."

Specifically, Dr. McCartney expressing gratitude to many of his colleagues at the University of Toronto, including Drs. Vincent Chan, Joel Katz, David Bevan, Brian Kavanagh, and Beverley Orser, for their unwavering advice and support.

The DSA recognizes individuals who have, over time, made broad contributions to the field of regional anesthesia and pain medicine. Contributions can include the growth of subspecialties, the evolution of knowledge, the enhancement of educational programs, significant changes in governance or political environments, new understandings of pain mechanisms or regional anesthesia, and improving patient care, satisfaction, and outcomes.

Please join us as we congratulate Dr. McCartney for this well-deserved honour.