7:30am      Registration and Breakfast

     Dr. Brian Kavanagh, Chair, Anesthesia
     Dr. Trevor Young, Dean, Faculty of Medicine
     Dr. Zeev Friedman, Chair, Annual Shields Research Day 2017

8:30am      Oral Presentations 1 - Session A
9:15am      Session B - Poster Viewing
10:00am      Oral Presentations 2 - Session C
10:45am      Poster Viewing and Morning Break - see Session B for abstracts
11:30am      Oral Presentations 3 - Session D
12:15pm      LUNCH and Poster Viewing

     UT Anesthesia in the News
     “Academic Anesthesia in Toronto 2050”

Dr. Brian Kavanagh, Professor of Anesthesiology, Medicine and Physiology, Chair, Department of Anesthesia, University of Toronto, Dr. Geoffrey Barker Chair in Critical Care Research, The Hospital for Sick Children


     Annual Shields Lecture
     "The synaptic pharmacology of general anesthesia"

Dr. Hugh C. Hemmings, MD, PhD, FRCA, Joseph F. Artusio Jr. Professor and Chair of Anesthesiology and Professor of Pharmacology at Weill Cornell Medical College, and Anesthesiologist-in-Chief at NewYork Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center.


     Shields Day Awards Presentation Session:
Bateman, Hammell, Rothbart, Byrick, Bryan, and Bevan Awards, The Marion and Early Orser Prize in Anesthesia and Sleep Sciences, Residents and Fellows Tuition Awards, Laws Travel Award, UT Anesthesia New Faculty Award, and Clinical Excellence Awards

2:45pm      DEPARTURE

Each oral session will be followed by a period of Q&A from the audience.

Please click on the link below for the full program including oral and poster presentations:


Back to Top