

## 41ST ANNUAL SHIELDS E-RESEARCH DAY

DEPARTMENT OF ANESTHESIOLOGY & PAIN MEDICINE
TEMERTY FACULTY OF MEDICINE
UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

## **PROGRAM**

## 8:00 - 8:35Welcome and Opening Remarks: Dr. Trevor Young, Dean, Temerty Faculty of Medicine Dr. Beverley Orser, Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Dr. Brian Cuthbertson, Vice-Chair of Research, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Faculty Awards - Education and Clinical Excellence 8:35 - 8:50Trainee Awards – Residency and Fellowship **Dr. Ahtsham Niazi** Vice-Chair of Education, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine "Angiotensin-converting enzyme 2 (ACE2) as a SARS-CoV-2 receptor and 8:50-9:10 therapeutic target in COVID-19" Dr. Haibo Zhang, MD, PhD Professor, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine, Physiology and Medicine, University of Toronto "High-Quality Medical Education Research: Opportunities and 9:10 - 9:30Challenges" Dr. Dominique Piquette, MD, PhD Assistant Professor, Interdepartmental Division of Critical Care Medicine, Department of Medicine, University of Toronto 9:30-9:50 "Volatile-based sedation for ICU patients: Shifting the paradigm in sedation care" Dr. Angela Jerath, MSc, FRCPC, FANZCA, MD, BSc Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine

BREAK	9:50 -10:00
Oral Presentation Session A	10:00 -11:00
Oral Presentation Session B	11:00 –12:00
LUNCH	12:00 –12:45
Academic Promotion 2020 and New Faculty Appointments	12:45 –1:00
Dr. Beverley Orser, Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine	
Shields Day Awards – Trainees	1:00 – 1:10
Presentations Rothbart, Byrick, Bryan, and Bevan Award Dr. Sheila Riazi, Chair, Shields Research Day	
Closing Remarks Dr. Beverley Orser, Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Dr. Sheila Riazi, Chair, Shields Research Day	1:10 –1:30