



45[™] ANNUAL SHIELDS RESEARCH DAY

MAY 3RD, 2024, FROM 7:30 AM – 3:30 PM ET DEPARTMENT OF ANESTHESIOLOGY & PAIN MEDICINE TEMERTY FACULTY OF MEDICINE UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

HARBOUR BALLROOM, THE WESTIN HARBOUR CASTLE, TORONTO

1 HARBOUR SQUARE, TORONTO, ON

PROGRAM

Registration and Breakfast	7:30 – 8:00 AM
Welcome, Opening Remarks and Land Acknowledgment	8:00 - 8:20 AM
 Dr. Yasmine Hoydonckx, Chair, Shields Planning Committee Dr. Patricia Houston, Interim Dean of the Temerty Faculty of Medicine Dr. Kevin Smith, President and CEO, UHN Dr. Beverley Orser, Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Dr. Brian Cuthbertson, Vice-Chair of Research, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine 	
Faculty Awards - Education and Clinical Excellence	8:20 – 8:40 AM
 Teaching Awards Dr. Ahtsham Niazi, Vice Chair of Education, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Clinical Excellence Awards Dr. Andrew Baker, Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs, Department of 	
Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine	
Oral Presentation Session A	8:40 – 9:30 AM
AM Break & Poster Presentation Session A	9:30 – 10:15 AM
Oral Presentation Session B	10:15 – 11:05 AM
Shields Day Lecture: Dr. Sachin Kheterpal "Lessons learned when using data to collaborate & improve care"	11:05 AM – 12:05 PM
LUNCH	12:05 – 1:05 PM

Anesthesia Faculty Lecture: Dr. Karim Ladha1:55 - 2:15 PM"Opioids, Cannabis and Psychedelics: Important Therapeutics or Just Getting High?"1:55 - 2:15 PMPM Break & Poster Presentation Session B2:15 - 3:00 PMAcademic Appointments and Promotions3:00 - 3:10 PMShields Day Awards - Trainees3:10 - 3:20 PMOral and Poster Presentations Representative of the Shields Planning Committee3:10 - 3:20 PMTrainee Education Awards - Alan K. Laws Travel, Thomas Hammel, Evelyn Bateman and Arthur Scott Award3:20 - 3:30 PMClosing Remarks Dr. Yasmine Hoydonckx, Chair, Shields Planning Committee3:20 - 3:30 PM	Oral Presentation Session C	1:05 – 1:55 PM
Academic Appointments and Promotions $3:00 - 3:10 \text{ PM}$ Shields Day Awards - Trainees $3:10 - 3:20 \text{ PM}$ Oral and Poster Presentations Representative of the Shields Planning Committee $3:10 - 3:20 \text{ PM}$ Trainee Education Awards - Alan K. Laws Travel, Thomas Hammel, Evelyn Bateman and Arthur Scott Award $3:20 - 3:30 \text{ PM}$ Closing Remarks $3:20 - 3:30 \text{ PM}$	"Opioids, Cannabis and Psychedelics: Important Therapeutics or Just Getting	1:55 – 2:15 PM
Shields Day Awards – Trainees3:10 – 3:20 PMOral and Poster Presentations Representative of the Shields Planning Committee7Trainee Education Awards – Alan K. Laws Travel, Thomas Hammel, Evelyn Bateman and Arthur Scott Award7Trainee Research Award - Alan W. Conn Graduate Award3:20 – 3:30 PMClosing Remarks3:20 – 3:30 PM	PM Break & Poster Presentation Session B	2:15 – 3:00 PM
Oral and Poster Presentations Representative of the Shields Planning Committee Trainee Education Awards – Alan K. Laws Travel, Thomas Hammel, Evelyn Bateman and Arthur Scott Award Trainee Research Award - Alan W. Conn Graduate Award Sclosing Remarks	Academic Appointments and Promotions	3:00 – 3:10 PM
Representative of the Shields Planning Committee Trainee Education Awards – Alan K. Laws Travel, Thomas Hammel, Evelyn Bateman and Arthur Scott Award Trainee Research Award - Alan W. Conn Graduate Award Closing Remarks 3:20 – 3:30 PM	Shields Day Awards – Trainees	3:10 – 3:20 PM
Bateman and Arthur Scott Award Trainee Research Award - Alan W. Conn Graduate Award Closing Remarks 3:20 – 3:30 PM		
Closing Remarks 3:20 – 3:30 PM	· · · · ·	
	Trainee Research Award - Alan W. Conn Graduate Award	
Dr. Yasmine Hoydonckx, Chair, Shields Planning Committee	Closing Remarks	3:20 – 3:30 PM
	Dr. Yasmine Hoydonckx, Chair, Shields Planning Committee	