



45[™] ANNUAL SHIELDS RESEARCH DAY

MAY 3RD, 2024, FROM 7:30 AM – 3:30 PM ET DEPARTMENT OF ANESTHESIOLOGY & PAIN MEDICINE TEMERTY FACULTY OF MEDICINE UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

FRONTENAC BALLROOM, THE WESTIN HARBOUR CASTLE, TORONTO

1 HARBOUR SQUARE, TORONTO, ON

PROGRAM

Registration and Breakfast Welcome, Opening Remarks and Land Acknowledgment Dr. Yasmine Hoydonckx, Chair, Shields Planning Committee (DEANERY SPEAKER) Dr. Beverley Orser, Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Dr. Brian Cuthbertson, Vice-Chair of Research, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Faculty Awards - Education and Clinical Excellence	7:30 – 8:00 AM 8:00 – 8:25 AM 8:25 – 8:45 AM
 Dr. Yasmine Hoydonckx, Chair, Shields Planning Committee (DEANERY SPEAKER) Dr. Beverley Orser, Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Dr. Brian Cuthbertson, Vice-Chair of Research, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine 	
(DEANERY SPEAKER) Dr. Beverley Orser, Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Dr. Brian Cuthbertson, Vice-Chair of Research, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine	8·25 – 8·45 AM
Dr. Beverley Orser, Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine Dr. Brian Cuthbertson, Vice-Chair of Research, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine	8·25 – 8·45 AM
Faculty Awards - Education and Clinical Excellence	8·25 – 8·45 AM
	0.25 0.45 AM
Teaching Awards Dr. Ahtsham Niazi, Vice Chair of Education, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine	,
Clinical Excellence Awards Dr. Andrew Baker, Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine	
Oral Presentation Session A	8:45 – 9:35 AM
AM Break & Poster Presentation Session A	9:35 – 10:20 AM
Oral Presentation Session B	10:20 – 11:10 AM
Shields Day Lecture	11:10 AM – 12:10 PM
LUNCH	12:10 – 1:10 PM

Oral Presentation Session C	1:10 – 2:00 PM	
Anesthesia Faculty Lecture: Dr. Karim Ladha	2:00 – 2:20 PM	
PM Break & Poster Presentation Session B	2:20 – 3:05 PM	
Academic Appointments and Promotions	3:05 – 3:15 PM	
Shields Day Awards – Trainees	3:15 – 3:25 PM	
<i>Oral and Poster Presentations</i> Representative of the Shields Planning Committee		
Trainee Education Awards – Alan K. Laws Travel, Thomas Hammel, Evelyn Bateman and Arthur Scott Award		
Trainee Research Award - Alan W. Conn Graduate Award		
Closing Remarks	3:25 – 3:30 PM	
Dr. Yasmine Hoydonckx, Chair, Shields Planning Committee		