Teaching Awards at the 2015 Faculty Development Day

Dec 3, 2015

Faculty Development Day 2015 PlenaryOn Wednesday, November 11, 2015, the Department of Anesthesia and Department of Surgery at the University of Toronto convened a joint Faculty Development Day event for the first time. This event expanded upon previous Faculty Development Day events to create new opportunities for both departments. This year's Faculty Development Day hosted nearly 200 participants from both departments and included a keynote address from Dr. Brian Hodges as well as eleven interactive workshops. The main focus of the event was to engage in discussion with regards to common challenges in anesthesia and surgery education rather than simple educational theory.

In an effort to acknowledge continued excellence in education within the Department of Anesthesia, the department has established teaching awards in a number of instructional areas. As part of the afternoon program for anesthesiologists, the department formally recognized just some of the talented and dedicated teachers in medical education. This year's awards and winners include:

Dr. John Desmond Award - Clyde Matava

Dr. Gerald Edelist Award - Aliya Salman

David Fear Award - Tobias Everett

New Faculty Teaching Excellence Award - Neilesh Soneji

Interprofessional Teaching Award - Fiona Campbell

Thank you to all the participants for making this year's event an overwhelming success.

Back to Top